PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy my first hand gun

furnaceman787
08-27-2010, 01:53 PM
I just got my PP.
Looking for recommendations for my first hand gun.
I know I want a 9mm,and I was looking at a Springfield XD.

DLL9MM
08-27-2010, 01:55 PM
Get a Glock 19.

miked
08-27-2010, 02:16 PM
I'm no expert, but per my own experience: Try anything you think you are interested in first, and even a few you aren't interested in. By "try" I mean go to a range and work the gun, don't just shoot a couple rounds and call it good. Rent or borrow a gun and put many rounds downrange,do magazine reloads, gun function manipulations, etc.

Everyone has their own favorite and theirs might not work for you.

I've gone through a Ruger, Kel-Tec, M&P and now a Glock. Some I tried on recommendation, some based on how they felt in the store. Finally, I found that the Glock worked best for me on the range.

Had I spent more time shooting each one before buying I could have saved myself a bit of time and money.

TylerPearce
08-27-2010, 02:38 PM
I loved my ruger p89dc as a first pistol. It has almost no recoil, and is VERY durable. However, I didn't pick it out, my dad gave it to me. I now own more guns, and to be honest I like them all just about equally. They all have advantages, and they all have their shortcomings, but it is mainly personal preference. If it fits your hands well, has a reliable reputation, and you like the controls on it, it will be a fun gun no matter what. If you are ever planning to Concealed carry, which I am someday, keep that in mind. I have a glock 27 that I LOVE, and one day it will make a great concealed carry weapon.

But in my opinion, GLOCK 17 or 19, probably 19.

Will-IB-Ready
08-27-2010, 02:43 PM
The only semi-autos that I ever recommend are Glock 19 or M&P 9.

JimSig
08-27-2010, 03:37 PM
I just got my PP.