PDA

View Full Version : Personal Protection Ammo

DJKnight
09-06-2010, 07:35 PM
I'm new to gun ownership and have been buying and shooting 9mm luger ammo in my Glock 19. My CPL came last week and I'm looking for advice on ammo to use in it for personal protection carry. Also as a petite woman may have to look into adding to my wardrobe in order to conceal. I have an IWB holster.

Signess
09-06-2010, 07:42 PM
Here's a good round to start with. I'm not a ballistics freak or nothing, but from what I've read of those that are. You can't go wrong with the Speer round for a personal protection round.

http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/15827-5.html

musashi
09-06-2010, 07:43 PM
whatever ammo you buy make sure you test it to make sure that your gun will feed it. If you figure out any tips on concealing feel free to pass them on. Mrs. musashi has a hard time doing so in the summer.

Signess
09-06-2010, 07:46 PM
whatever ammo you buy make sure you test it to make sure that your gun will feed it. If you figure out any tips on concealing feel free to pass them on. Mrs. musashi has a hard time doing so in the summer.

And by all means, this also. But I don't think you'll have any issues with running Gold Dots through a Glock. I wouldn't take my word for it to save your life though. Always make sure the ammo will function properly. Good call!

sprinklerguy28
09-06-2010, 07:46 PM
There are many good protection rounds out there. Just like guns most will do the job its more of personal preference. The main factor should be what shoots well for your gun and you. You may have to buy and tests several brands before picking one. Even if you spend $100 trying ammo, it's still a great bargain to save your life for.

Juggernaut
09-06-2010, 07:57 PM
I like Cor-Bon DPX....

RPMO6
09-06-2010, 08:06 PM
It certainly is a personal thing and as others have stated, what your weapon likes.

My choice:
http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/AMM414-5.html#Reviews

dl2155
09-06-2010, 10:33 PM