PDA

View Full Version : Arisaka model 38 longrifle.

Slatherd
11-10-2004, 12:52 AM
My grandfather brought back a model 38 rifle from the field in the Phillipenes. He has since given it to me. Ive gone through it, and it appears to be in good working order. Its also complete with the cleaning rod and bayonet. (with the sheath) No sling though.

I was wondering is there anything else to know about this rifle? Ive looked up production numbers and things like that. Also, does anyone know where I can get the 6.5 x 50mm rounds for it? I've looked with no luck.

any help is appreciated.

Kouger
11-10-2004, 01:07 AM
i am no expert by any means......... but i havent heardof a 6.5X50 only a 6.5X55 round.

they can be expensive if thats it.best deal i have found is on www.ammoman.com

6.5X55 FEDERAL 140 Grain
FULL METAL JACKET

SWEDISH MAUSER AMMO

BEST SALE EVER !!!!!

8-BOXES MINIMUM MIX OR MATCH ANY ITEM ON WEBSITE

FREE SHIPPING

Part Number #65X55-0100-FMJ, 0110-FMJ

$10-BOX(20) rounds.

8-BOX MINUMUM

$200-case of 500 rounds.

but.then again.i can be wrong.woudlnt be the first time

ANIMAL
11-10-2004, 01:34 AM
If its a real oddball round NORMA is probably the only folks that will make it and its gonna cost you.

Had an argentine mauser years ago 70's and shells cost me 21 bucks for 20 rounds. sold that puppy quick

It was nice in the beginning. got the gun for 50 bucks at J.C. Pennys at 13 and woodward and boxes of 1946 and 47 shells cost $2.50 for 50 count but when they ran out. sticker shock.

karcent
11-10-2004, 07:03 AM
Craig is correct. Norma manufactures 6.5jap. It runs almost $2.00 a round. If you're going to shoot that rifle regularly you will want to reload.
This cartridge is not the same as 6.5x55.

Slatherd
11-10-2004, 10:55 AM
hmmm... I think I'll just keep it in the gun cabinet and lat it look pretty.

Thanks for the info fellas.

Kouger
11-10-2004, 01:57 PM