PDA

View Full Version : Wesley's "Big" Buck Landed

Wesley w/Glock
12-16-2004, 12:04 PM
Hi folks,

This is my first year hunting so I have much to learn. Since acquiring my ten acre home earlier this year I have been preparing both the land and myself for the season. I sent Deputy out on opening day of archery season and he bagged himself a respectable doe. On opening day of gun season SavedbydBelle and I sat up sixteen feet in my tree stand all day and saw nothing. Then muzzle loading season opened up and I sat up there all day Saturday, all of Sunday afternoon, and then again all day Monday.

Monday was my big day for that was the day I landed my really "big" buck. After waiting all day, about 5:15pm three deer came prancing down on my bait pile. Two stood off to the side of the bait pile and one landed on it like it was feeding time and saying, "Who has time for looking around?" All three were turned in my direction. It nibbled on the bait pile and I began to cautiously swing around into shooting position. It looked up sixteen feet at 50 yards at me so I froze. Then it began eating again and one of the other deer still off to the side soon after looked up at me and again I had to freeze. Eventually I lined up on the deer on the bait pile and placed my cross-hairs on it. I was a little concerned wondering what might happen with to the insides with my bullet entering the chest and traveling down the entire length coming out somewhere around the pooper. I went ahead and took the shot.

The deer began to run as if I had missed but I knew that no question remained at that range so I just watched. It did me a great favor in that it ran in a circle as if I was at the center. It eventually ran into a tree and fell, squirmed a minute and then got up to run another five yards where it dropped into its final resting place.