PDA

View Full Version : Detroit Cops ammo problems

jmoser
02-23-2005, 09:42 AM
http://www.freep.com/news/locway/bullets23e_20050223.htm

Today's Free Press reports Detroit PD is looking into potential ammo issues using Federal 'expanding FMJ' bullets with 'Silicon filled noses.' FYI DPD carries .40 S&W caliber.

Apparently in one shooting one bullet out of 11 failed to penetrate a heavy winter coat; in another a head shot glanced off [but the bad guy reportedly had a metal plate in his head.]

I am not familiar with this bullet - is this ammo 'LEO only?'

Report says the police union pushed to adopt this ammo, supposed to give expansion without overpenetration. If I was a Detroit cop I would want some tough JHP instead of being the guinea pig for new 'trick bullets.' Bad place to use as a test market [although they will generate a lot of data . . . . ]

karcent
02-23-2005, 09:49 AM
Unfortunately, there is no "perfect bullet".
It has been reported that JHP can fill up with material from heavy clothing and stop penetrating as well.
It's the reason you see punks dressed with many layers of clothing no matter what the weather is like. They learn tricks like this when they go to that university of higher education in Jackson, or the local county level educational facilities.

That ammo is not LEO only and since it is not a traditional hollow point, it feeds very reliably.

bluethunder
02-23-2005, 10:27 AM
Is it kinda liike the "Power Ball" ammo?

jmoser
02-23-2005, 12:57 PM
[quote="karcent"]Unfortunately, there is no "perfect bullet".
It has been reported that JHP can fill up with material from heavy clothing and stop penetrating as well.
]

Absolutely correct that there is no 'Perfect Bullet.' (Except that banned 'Black Talon' stuff that 'kills instantly' even with an ankle shot . . . :roll: )