PDA

View Full Version : Hunting after hours results in loss of firearms rights

G22
03-14-2005, 12:41 PM
From MIDNR Reports:

CO Ken Kovach received a disposition on case where a subject had been issued a ticket for possession of a loaded firearm afield after closed hours. The subject was found guilty in a bench trial and was sentenced to pay $75 in fines and costs, was charged $100 in public defender fees, and was ordered to pay another $100 for the probation program. During his one year probation, he is not allowed to possess a firearm of any kind.

Your thoughts?

Jim Simmons
03-14-2005, 01:37 PM
That's a common condition of probation.

G22
03-14-2005, 01:39 PM
So...Where do your firearms go?

Freetime
03-14-2005, 02:15 PM
Give them to your wife or if not married a relative, for 1 year. Should have obeyed the law it would have been easier. Just my opinion, I'm not a lawyer though.
Larry

G22
03-14-2005, 02:35 PM
I agree Larry. But if you give them to your wife they are still in the same home, and if your name is on the deed then technically your still in possession. Right?

Would you have to get all the green cards in her name then? (handgun wise)

BTW its not me in the story, i'm very carefull to unload & case before legal hunting hours are over.

UpNorthWOLF
03-14-2005, 06:26 PM
A friend of mine is holding a number of firearms (ten or twelve) for a neighbor across the street from him.

By the way, if I own land and I am out there, armed, trying to clear poachers or trespassers, would I still get busted? Or is this a state land kinda' thing?

Rick

ultrarider
03-15-2005, 10:03 AM
By the way, if I own land and I am out there, armed, trying to clear poachers or trespassers, would I still get busted? Or is this a state land kinda' thing?

Rick