PDA

View Full Version : Home Defense gun.

Gdem007
12-24-2010, 01:21 AM
Hello All, I am new to MGO. I don't have any guns yet but hope to buy soon. I have been debating about whether to go with a HK P30, Walther P99, or the trusty old Glock. I think I want a .45 cal, I like the recoil but not sure what to purchase. In all honesty it will probably just sit on/in the night stand after the first year but anyway I need help making a decision. I think these are all reliable guns and the price really doesn't make a difference, I can save a litle more for the more expensive models... I have been to the local gun shops (Shooter Service, Firingline, Gander, ...) They are all very helpfull but I'm very indecicive. I like the Glock's weight and reputation but don't feel it is as accurate as the others? I like the others but someone brought to my attn. that getting parts and repairs may be a bit more costly, I am not very wealthy and have small children.

Funny aside, people always say shotgun but I find if you ask them what they reach for at home it ends up being a pistol 95% of the time.

Just thought maybe some of you may have some insight to add!!

Thank you in advance for your thoughts.

Greg

intheburbs
12-24-2010, 01:27 AM
Welcome to MGO.

Go find a range that rents these guns, take them for a test drive, and I'm sure you'll have a favorite. Plenty of reliable handguns out there - find one that you shoot well, buy lots of ammo, practice frequently and get training.

And yes, most people include a handgun in their home defense plan. However, poll most folks on here and you'll find that shotguns and black rifles are their primary choice. The old saying is "you use your pistol to fight your way back to your rifle."

3fingervic
12-24-2010, 01:29 AM
I have a few questions. Do you ever plan to conceal carry the gun? Would you want your wife to be able to shoot it? Will you put a light on it?

DetroitBiker
12-24-2010, 01:41 AM
Welcome to MGO.