PDA

View Full Version : Selling a Rifle

lizardking8610
01-07-2011, 08:12 PM
Am I correct when I say that in MI I can legally, and without paperwork from the police, sell a rifle to someone with a verifiable age of over 18?

hopeitsfast
01-07-2011, 08:13 PM
Am I correct when I say that in MI I can legally, and without paperwork from the police, sell a rifle to someone with a verifiable age of over 18?
Yup, unless you know for some reason he isn't legal. Like if you knew he had a felony or something.

ETA: I am not a lawyer and this opinion is worth exactly what you paid.

Dansjeep2000
01-07-2011, 08:45 PM
Thats what I have always done.

01-08-2011, 10:07 AM
For rifles ; I like to make out a purchaser / seller receipt so that if there is a problem later on you have the names ( printed & signed ) , date , price , drivers license number info. If the buyer will not give that info. walk away. Goes both ways buying & selling rifles / cars / boats / RVs etc.
If a pistol you have info already on permit and if private party also a sales receipt as above or write CPL number of seller ( if he has one ) on back of your permit copy. Get all the info you think you need and you are good to go . :wink:

who dat
01-08-2011, 10:19 AM
For rifles ; I like to make out a purchaser / seller receipt so that if there is a problem later on you have the names ( printed & signed ) , date , price , drivers license number info. If the buyer will not give that info. walk away. Goes both ways buying & selling rifles / cars / boats / RVs etc.
If a pistol you have info already on permit and if private party also a sales receipt as above or write CPL number of seller ( if he has one ) on back of your permit copy. Get all the info you think you need and you are good to go . :wink:Great idea...pass out your sensitive ID numbers to lay around in somebody's car or closet.

NEVER EVER give your DL #. :doh:

michigan_rkba
01-16-2011, 09:18 PM