PDA

View Full Version : New to holsters/ gun belts

TylerPearce
03-18-2011, 02:38 PM
I just bought my first good leather holster, a galco, for a newly acquired 1911. Now I need a gun belt. What are some good options? I will wear this belt a lot, and not just as a gun belt. I have a problem with the cheap belts I usually wear stretching and then I look like a little hood rat with sagging pants, lol. I don't even know what size to get to be honest. My waist size is 32", but the cheap belt that I am wearing right now is a 36 and fits good. I am new to the gun belt (and quality belt in general) world, HELP! I am not looking to spend more than $75 if at all possible.

3rdcoach
03-18-2011, 02:57 PM
Go to a site like www.thebeltman.net or some of the custom holster makers and they will tell you how to measure and everything that you need. $75.00 is in the ballpark

TylerPearce
03-18-2011, 03:06 PM
Thank you! I when I get my CPL (If I still have this belt) I am planning on carrying IWB, how much bigger would you get the belt for that purpose?

jeremy_p
03-18-2011, 03:35 PM
I've been wearing a Looper Leather belt, google looper leather, for 4 years and its worked very well for me even when carrying to handguns plus reloads. Looper belts run $50ish now, I got mine when they were $30/$35. My next belt, however, will be a Sneaky Belt from One Source Tactical. I think they're $50ish as well, but I don't remember.

Jeremy

For sizing I go up a size in pants and belt (2") for inside the waist band carry, with the belt at the middle hole.

mrbuckshot
03-18-2011, 03:43 PM
Here is one of the best secrets that I only let MGO members know about.
go to JC Penny's mens dept and get a heavy dress belt. It will hold up your pants and holster .. Let the other darn fools buy the $100.oo belts. Your $30.oo one will last for years.
have a nice day

ImJin Scout
03-18-2011, 05:24 PM
Here is one of the best secrets that I only let MGO members know about.