PDA

View Full Version : AR firing pin hitting primer

METL
06-30-2011, 04:57 PM
Forgive me for sounding a bit stupid, but I'm a noob with AR stuff. I just got a S&W M&P15... I had a mag with 20 rds in it and rather than get them out by hand, I just racked them out via pulling back the charging handle, letting go of it, repeat...

After this, I noticed that all of the primers of the cartridges had little dots on them where something in the gun most definately hit them. There is a small indent in the metal. There were 4 or 5 that did not have this, so I threw those back in the mag and ejected them the same way... voila... dotted primers.

Is this normal? Seems like I could have an accidental discharge... but I'm not sure how much pressure it takes to fire the primer.

Here's a picture:

http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x212/bobdobalita/IMG_3112.jpg

Please let me know if I am A.) stupid and doing something dumb or B.) may have a problem with my rifle.

THANKS!!!!

Buzzcat
06-30-2011, 05:12 PM
I sorta vote for "A". You're not stupid but you're definitely doing something dumb.

Pull the mag first, then eject the round in the chamber.

There might be one or two AR experts here who can address the "B" issue. FWIW, I've experienced primer dents in AKs and similar, but not ARs, especially OEM S&W MPs.

METL
06-30-2011, 05:19 PM
I called the local gun shop and they said it is normal because of the free floating firing pin... and that it won't hit it hard enough to discharge... I don't know if I like that answer because with my luck I'd get some kind of soft primer or something and shoot my neighbor's house or put a hole in my roof.... :P

But why is it dumb, buzzkill, to cycle the rounds through the gun without operating the trigger? (honest question)

Buzzcat
06-30-2011, 05:33 PM
But why is it dumb, buzzkill, to cycle the rounds through the gun without operating the trigger? (honest question)

First of all, it's Buzzcat, not buzzkill, thankya very much... :wink: