PDA

View Full Version : Want to buy first gun!

mustangman95gt
07-06-2011, 05:13 PM
I have been researching for many months now on what I want to get. I am a full time student so by no means in my budget high. I have been looking at everything .22LR. This seems to be the cheapest ammo and I can get a Ruger 10 22 cheap and they are reliable.

Any advice on my first gun?

I've been looking at Ruger 10 22, Ruger Mark III, Taurus 94, Marlin M60, Savage, Remington 597 and more. I already know I am going to become a 'collector' by means of having many firearms and actually using them.

This gun would be used for target shooting only. I currently do no hunt and don't see myself doing it in the near future.

One weapon I can see myself adding is the Polish issued M44 Mosin Nagant. I have shot one and it would also be a part of my Polish heritage.

As for the .22LR, if I got a case of ammo, and a Ruger 10 22, that same exact ammo can be used in the Ruger Mark III or Taurus 94?

I'd like to keep my current budget under $400 and the LOWER the BETTER!

Hopefully you all can help!:banana:

dougwg
07-06-2011, 05:25 PM
Get the Ruger Mark III and stop thinking about it so much, this will give you more time to shoot :)

pgaplayerless
07-06-2011, 05:33 PM
Beretta Neos .22 can be had cheap used. I got mine for $150. LMK if u want to try it out.

BTW M44 and M91/30 are two different Mosins ;) Polaci only made M44s.

mustangman95gt
07-06-2011, 05:36 PM
Beretta Neos .22 can be had cheap used. I got mine for $150. LMK if u want to try it out.

BTW M44 and M91/30 are two different Mosins ;) Polaci only made M44s.

Is it accurate out of the box?

And thanks for the Mosin info, I thought it was the same but that would be a long name so it makes sense!

pgaplayerless
07-06-2011, 05:37 PM
Is it accurate out of the box?

And thanks for the Mosin info, I thought it was the same but that would be a long name so it makes sense!

Very. it's a target gun/plinker

mustangman95gt
07-06-2011, 05:54 PM