PDA

View Full Version : First Handgun

MLew079
08-04-2011, 11:56 PM
Hey Everybody,

I am new to the website, and I just started to get into guns. I've been messing around with rifles and shotguns and now I've been interested in purchasing a handgun. I want something reliable and something I can get familiar with before I get my CPL when I turn 21 in the next couple months. I want something that I can take to the range pretty often too. I am also a student so something economical in price would be ideal. Please give me some ideas on some good handguns for what I'm looking for. Also, just wanted to add is the Kel-Tec PF9 or Kel-Tec P3AT good guns to take to the range and a good starting handgun?

Thanks Everyone!!!

Matt

Mongo
08-05-2011, 12:46 AM
Wow are you going to get a bunch of advice here. Let me be the first of the 100's of opinions you'll get.

Being you are a student with limited funds and this is your first handgun, I would recommend a 9mm if you are going to purchase a semi-auto pistol. The ammo is the most reasonably priced and easy to find. The cartridge offers mild recoil, a wide array of modern self defense loadings, fits into both compact and full size pistols and has only gotten better over time.

Now as for a first gun, I would highly recommend what many people consider to be the "one best single gun to own".....a Glock 19. This is a fantastic pistol that balances concealable size, magazine capacity, and you won't find a more reliable handgun. There are other great choices out there, but I am recommending the Glock 19 because of your situation. Ammo is about as cheap as any center fire round. This gun is comfortable to shoot in extended range sessions as you practice. Holsters, parts, and extra gear is everywhere for the Glock. I really don't think price is too much of an issue either. You should be able to pick up a NICE used Glock in the $350 to $425 range.