PDA

View Full Version : Getting started in coyote hunting

CaveNil
08-20-2011, 05:53 PM
I have a friend who has some land, and he would like me to shoot coyotes on it.

He keeps wild rabbits, so that his beagles can chase them around for training. I don't know anything about coyote hunting at all, but it sounds like it would be fun. I'm a total novice.

I have a semi-automatic rifle in .308. Is this appropriate for hunting coyotes? How do I get started? Do you bait them? When is the season?

Thank you, experts!!!

Dsully
08-20-2011, 05:58 PM
I'd like to know as well. Can I use a 50 cal?

CaveNil
08-20-2011, 06:23 PM
Hahaha you're very funny.

It's the only rifle I have besides a .22.

Seriously, anybody know a good way to shoot a few of these things?

fr3db3ar
08-20-2011, 06:27 PM
Check out this site for local to michigan tips.

http://scraphorn.proboards.com/index.cgi

Get a hand call and practice a little. Sounds don't have to be perfect. To start I suggest a turkey feather on a string just to get their attention when they come so they are not looking directly at you.

Daytime only until Oct 15 then nighttime is allowed with rimfire or shotgun, no centerfire at night.

Go try it and find out how it works. When it cools down if you want a partner for a set or two drop me a PM.

steve243
08-20-2011, 06:31 PM
.308 is kinda over kill isn't it >>>>>>>>>>> :) .243 would be a better round to use ..

CaveNil
08-20-2011, 06:43 PM
Thanks, fr3db3ar.

I guess I'll just have to hit the woods here, and see what happens.

steve243 - It doesn't have to be a beautiful kill. My friend just wants me to waste some of them. A pile of goo is acceptable.

btw, is a hunting license required?

JohnJak
08-21-2011, 04:28 PM
I have no problem using .308 FMJ target ammo and it will do the job.

fr3db3ar
08-21-2011, 07:17 PM
Thanks, fr3db3ar.

I guess I'll just have to hit the woods here, and see what happens.