PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 questions

ProRimFire
09-17-2011, 06:07 PM
I am new to AR-15's and had a few questions. I'm interested in Alexander Arms products, and was wondering are all AR upper and lowers universal? Can you swap different caliber uppers with the same lower? If any one has any good info please share, any artical ect. thanks

ltdave
09-17-2011, 06:21 PM
for the MOST PART, any standard '15' upper will fit any standard '15' lower. you cant put a '15' upper on a '10' lower...

of course youre mileage may vary but since one lower with loose tolerances, may not fit up with an upper with loose tolerances if they compound (ive got an upper/lower combo that is REALLY tight because one or both are slightly out of tolerance but with some effort i can get it to lock up right)...

some of the early Colt uppers and lowers had NON-milspec takedown pins. if you have a large hole upper (the pivot point hole on the upper larger than milspec) you can get offset pins to make them work but i think everything in the last 10yrs or so are milspec sized...

ive never heard of Alexander Arms so i cant comment on them, but uppers and lowers are all forged by only a handful of sources and then machined by the individual sourced manufacturers...

good luck but keep an eye on it. they can multiply without having a mate next to them. until i lost all of mine in a boating accident i was up to 5...

PhilRoth
09-17-2011, 06:29 PM
AR-15s are like computers... Never buy a used one from someone who says he "built" it.

ProRimFire
09-17-2011, 06:30 PM
very good info thanks! Alexander arms is the maker of 6.5 grendel and .50 beowolf. thought they were interesting calibers.

ProRimFire
09-17-2011, 06:36 PM
itdave i hear ya man, i just havent got to the expensive AR's yet mostly handguns and small caliber rifles. but man they have multiplied quick!

RPMO6
09-17-2011, 06:39 PM
AR-15s are like computers... Never buy a used one from someone who says he "built" it.