PDA

View Full Version : Landlords Restricting Firearms

Lgunlaw90
09-18-2011, 09:44 PM
Is it legal for a landlord to restrict a tennant from keeping a firearm in the apartment they are renting? :flag:

caf68
09-18-2011, 11:53 PM
I am not a lawyer, but as a former landlord, I know of no law that allows a landlord to prohibit the keeping of firearms in a rental property, provided the lessee is legally allowed to own and possess firearms.

BWHaas
09-19-2011, 12:23 AM
I am not a lawyer, but as a former landlord, I know of no law that allows a landlord to prohibit the keeping of firearms in a rental property, provided the lessee is legally allowed to own and possess firearms.
Same here. I believe the law protects the lessee as the "homeowner" in that case and say that by signing the lease, you are technically on your property.

The MGO law guys will clear this up though

kdogg
09-19-2011, 08:08 AM
The MGO law guys have cleared this one up many times. I've seen this same post about a dozen times since I've been a member. If you search the legal section, you will find threads that have this information already.

The sort answer is yes. Yes a landlord can restrict firearms. It's private property. You don't HAVE to sign the lease if you don't agree to those terms.

Just know if you sign a lease saying they don't allow firearms and they find out you HAVE firearms, well obviously that would give them the right to evict if they choose to.

http://www.migunowners.org/forum/showthread.php?t=81667&highlight=firearms+lease

I have a friend who just received a new lease for the apartment they live in. In this lease they have a new clause that states they are not able to be in possession of deadly weapons. In other words it prohibits having guns unless you are in law enforcement.

Is this legal?

Yes.

Note that Shyster is a lawyer.