PDA

View Full Version : Competition on Public Land

TomE
11-04-2011, 07:24 AM
So I go out to and old stand I've been using off and on for 20 years, it's a high traffic area both for deer and humans. It's off an open field with some apple trees in it, with surrounding planted pines that are mature. Most of the time people park near there to hunt. When they do ,the deer simply move, usually by my stand area.

Well this morning I go out for some bow work, I see a pop-up blind out in the middle of the field, under a apple tree, with a different type of apples put out as bait in the pines, within 50 yards of my old stand.

I know its public land, but squeezing someone out is BS. Putting a blind up under a apple tree, where deer bed down and feed :?:,then putting down your own apples 20 yards from the blind, is ignorant.

Why not just put the blind up in the pines and watch the apple trees :?:

I'm glad I have a bunch of other spots.

Since my spot was taken, and the coffee was working, I decided to come home, check my emails and have a BM

I'm going out back to catch the 8:30 express in back of the home, if someone is there, they're tresspassing and will be dealt with accordingly

pkuptruck
11-04-2011, 07:35 AM
hope the coffe and the BM worked out for you...:)

Its public land... and it does SUCK.. been there...done that...

Same sort of thing happened to me. HUnted in the same area , parked in the same spot, etc for many many many years..

then, out of the blue...some dork posted a Camping Permit in out parking area... and then proceeded to use MY glow tacks to find a great ground bind... and a tree marked for a ladderstand...

They have been coming back for 4 or 5 years straight... reported their baiting last year ( now its legal..) and to my knowledge... they havent SEEN a deer in their whole experience....

Good News? I moved north of the ridges from there... and have taken a nicer buck every year!! :brow:

karma, they say... is a BEEEE-OTCH! :-P

TomE