PDA

View Full Version : Help picking correct arrows for bow...

fegPA63
11-10-2011, 10:37 PM
I have a compound bow, takes a 31 inch arrow, shooting 60lb draw weight

how do I select a good hunting arrow for this? All the numbers are foreign to me as I'm new at this but see they have arrows in "250" "340" etc, and aluminum ones "2018" "2016" etc. and also need to calculate the "grains per inch" for the arrow.....from what I've read 6 grains times the draw weight in lbs is what you're looking for but does that include broadhead too or just shaft?

lost.:boxing:

TomE
11-11-2011, 07:02 AM
http://www.eastonarchery.com/download/selectioncharts

There a formula for kinetic energy somewhere. 450# is desired. Most bows rate their speed based on a 300 grain arrow(point included), anything less, it's like a dry-fire

A 250 grain arrow, with a 100 grain broadhead,plus the weight of the nock and fletching,will give you a little over 350 grains and should give a flatter trajectory,more speed, but less penetration.

You need to go to a reputable bow shop, and get measured for your draw using a correct anchor point. Then get the actual draw weight measured . With that data they can select the proper shaft dia /spline weight.Too flimsly the arrow with whip when flying through the air. Too stiff and it won't absorb the energy and won't fly straight either.

It's been a few years for me on this subject, I'm getting older, taking Ginkgo Biloba and still can't remember all the details, but that's the basics.

There's a fresh inch of snow on the ground,but's its melting fast,camo's on,so is the rut

miked
11-11-2011, 07:14 AM
I have a compound bow, takes a 31 inch arrow, shooting 60lb draw weight

Measure your actual draw length. 31" is long. I don't know to many peple that actually have a 31" draw length.