PDA

View Full Version : Mosin Nagant go/no go gages

Professorwiz
12-11-2011, 10:23 AM
I'd like to get my Mosin checked out before firing it. I just purchased it a week or so ago from Gander Mountain. I've read there were gages to be purchased for this, does anyone around here have a rental program for these, or perhaps the exact blueprint dimensions of these? I am a machinist with grinding experiance and could make my own if I knew the dimensions.

trigger
12-11-2011, 07:54 PM
Read the 3rd post http://www.thehighroad.org/archive/index.php/t-21058.html

Professorwiz
12-11-2011, 09:01 PM
It would seem somewhere someone would have the blueprint. The info you gave me on that site is good. I'm sure it's a fairly steep angle.

shifty_85
12-12-2011, 11:25 AM
is there any reason you want to get it checked in this much and detailed? i know safety is a big concer with a gun that is over 70 years old.

but i just took all the cosmilne off my gun. and cleaned the action and the barrel both ALOT to the point i felt it was not geting any cleaner.

i checked the fireing pin pertrution with the gauge it checked out. so i went and got some rounds for it.

if you want i can give it a good over look and clean everything up for you and feild strip your bolt.

Professorwiz
12-12-2011, 12:11 PM
The safety factor was/is my main concern. I just didn't want it to go boom in my face and/or injure someone else. It's one thing to take a chance and injure yourself, I'd hate to hit someone else with pieces.

I've taken the bolt apart and cleaned it, and am going to clean the rest up. I'd welcome any tips on it, so I will operate it safely.

Where do you go to shoot?

Russ

shifty_85
12-12-2011, 02:21 PM
i shoot at island lake. 7 bucks all day at the range and you can shoot the cheap milltary surplus rounds there too.