PDA

View Full Version : Question about threading a fluted barrel

matt
03-19-2012, 07:27 AM
I have a 24" bushmaster varminter with a 24" barrel. There is about an inch of non-fluted at the tip. If I put a suppressor on it, its going to be ridiculously long. So, I was thinking about having a couple inches cut off and then threading it.

I know next to nothing about barrel harmonics. Would a fluted barrel without a full "ring" at the tip reduce performance somehow? Would cutting off 2", 3", 4" make much difference, especially if it was primarily run suppressed?

Not exactly sure which suppressor, but I'm considering AAC 762sd so I can use it with my 308 as well.

pkuptruck
03-19-2012, 07:38 AM
not sure about the threading if a fluted barrel, so I will leave that to the experts.. :drunk:

as far as harmonics, when/if you cut it, you'll need to experiment with the length. Might have to re-cut 1/4 inch at a time to find a "sweet spot"..
(did it with an old mauser barrel.. and ended up with a tack driver!! YMMV..)

Why not get a new barrel instead..?

matt
03-19-2012, 09:56 AM
Why not get a new barrel instead..?

Well, that may be the best solution overall, saving time, and that may translate to saving money too! Especially if I can get a standard thread to match my needs. :)

pkuptruck
03-19-2012, 10:04 AM
Well, that may be the best solution overall, saving time, and that may translate to saving money too! Especially if I can get a standard thread to match my needs. :)

:thumbup:

Gloofy
03-19-2012, 07:43 PM
If it shoots good, thread it and leave it.

You can remove the fluting maybe in in front of the gas block. If I were going to do it, I'd take it all off out front. It's gonna look messy if you cut it on the flutes.

It's fairly expensive to have that work done. What is the outside diameter of the barrel now?

matt
03-19-2012, 08:27 PM
If it shoots good, thread it and leave it.