PDA

View Full Version : Kel Tec p3at

Ibear1992
01-13-2013, 10:57 PM
I just bought a kel tec 380 today that had about 20 down the pipe from the previous owner. The owner (my uncle) said that the 20 or so he shot gave him no issues. Now on to the review.
First off, the I and some of my family members shot 150 winchester white box flat nose fmj's through it flawlessly. The one and ONLY malfunction was when I tried to shoot it with my off hand, which I have never done before with any gun, I limp wristed and it failed to feed. Obviously, that was my fault, not the gun's. When you rack the first round into the chamber from a fresh mag you have to be quick or it won't feed, but I have a feeling that will work itself out with a few more down the pipe.
We we're shooting at about 7 yards and accuracy was pretty good. Any further back and I wouldn't be able to consistantly hit the target. The gun I'm sure is pretty acurate, but between the decent recoil and low profile sights, it's hard to be accurate with it. But this gun is supposed to be a close quarters defense gun and I beleive it definatley does what it's supposed to do.
The finnish isn't great but it doesn't look bad or anything. Its just about what you'd expect from a $260 gun. The mag release isn't easy to accidently depress while shooting unlike some other small guns. I, nor any of the other 4 people that shot it today, never had the mag drop on accident. Also, for those it matters to, the empty mag does drop freely from the gun when you push the mag realease, so there is no "stripping" the mag out involved.
Need less to say, I'm very happy with this gun. I've read reviews on both sides of the fence on this gun and since my uncle had a good price tag on it, I decided to see how it was for my self. Honestly, I'm very glad I did. If this gun continues to be flawless for the next few months, it could very well be my edc when I get my cpl this fall.

white1200c
01-14-2013, 12:12 PM