PDA

View Full Version : MRE Beef Brisket

Marcus
02-13-2013, 05:21 PM
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b204/jake19drunkpunk/For%20sale%20items/IMG_1370.jpg

I know most of you are Military (Thank you for your service) and would laugh at a Civilian like me getting a novelty out of the idea of an MRE. I have heard of them, but never had one before. What fantastically thought out product and packaging. I wish I had these in Boy scouts.

I have been working on food storage now for about 6 months or so. I have tried a couple of different platforms like retail canned food, eFoods Direct, Wise, Dry Goods. My latest platform for "easy" convenience for road trips and "I need a lunch on the fly" days are MREs.

I like hot food. PB&J and leftovers get old. MREs are expensive and I wanted to see if they had value being incorporated into a food reserve plan.

Well, I ordered a case online and grabbed a "Beef Brisket" on the fly out the door this morning. I was surprised, an MRE is extremely inclusive with crackers, cheese spread, cookies, coffee, gum, and entree. I set up the cooker and warmed the biscuit with the entree, stuck the cheese in there to soften it. Everything was decent and fine.

When I opened up the warmed up biscuit and dumped the beef/gravy I was very impressed. I was expecting a school-lunch beef-ish patty with a salty watery gravy.....and got a nicely sliced roast beef style meat and thick gravy that looked like my wife could have made. There was a distinct smokey aroma, an actual flavor profile and welcomed lack of saltiness I was expecting with a prepped food. WAAAAY better then some of the slop I ate in school. WAAAY better then some of the stuff I ate on the trail.

My office always gets a kick out of the ammo, weapons and laughed at the "Army Food Rations". There was only inquiring glances & interested questions about my lunch today.

I will be keeping a few in a EDC bag instead of Ramen noodles from now on.

pgaplayerless
02-13-2013, 05:28 PM