PDA

View Full Version : HB 4262 prohibitions against carrying certain weapons

Tallbear
02-15-2013, 11:28 AM
HB 4262 of 2013 (http://www.legislature.mi.gov/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=2013-HB-4262)
Crimes; weapons; prohibitions against carrying certain weapons; revise. Amends secs. 226, 227 & 231 of 1931 PA 328 (MCL 750.226 et seq.).
Last Action: 2/14/2013 referred to Committee on Tourism

45/70fan
02-15-2013, 11:43 AM
Is this doing away with the prohibition of carrying a double edged knife?

Jack-w-1911
02-15-2013, 11:45 AM
I'm just a layman; but this looks like anti open carry legislation. Correct?

ETA: I guess I should re-read the bill.

Roundballer
02-15-2013, 02:19 PM
Very similar to a bill that failed last year, some good, some bad. The last bill also repealed switch blade bans, this one doesn't.

If 1=bad, and 5=good, with 3=dead center, this is about 2.5....

Leader
02-15-2013, 03:31 PM
Looks to me like it says carrying a knife of any size is a felony unless you can PROVE it is a "tool" that you need that day for your job or hobby.
Carrying a pocket knife just because will be illegal.

I vote NO!

Leader
02-15-2013, 03:32 PM

Roundballer
02-15-2013, 05:36 PM
I think that you are miss-reading this.

Looks to me like it says carrying a knife of any size is a felony unless you can PROVE it is a "tool" that you need that day for your job or hobby.

I vote NO!
The changes in 227, that call out the exceptions, states that it doesn't apply for those exceptions. It would still be the prosecutors job to prove that you didn't fit the exception.

The changes in the language of 226 does open it up to folding knives, but maintains the "with intent" language, and unfortunately drops the length phrase.

Looks to me like it says (Sec.227) carrying a knife of any size is a felony unless you can PROVE it is a "tool" that you need that day for your job or hobby.