PDA

View Full Version : Never been hunting, where to start?

Bisley12
01-13-2014, 05:43 PM
I am new to gun ownership, especially compared to most of you, and have never been hunting. As an adult, are there any classes I need to take to be able to get the various licenses through out the year? Also, do any of you know any good resources where I can learn the ins and outs of hunting legally, such as public/state land rules, fire arm restrictions and so on?

tenthumbs
01-13-2014, 06:26 PM
I am new to gun ownership, especially compared to most of you, and have never been hunting. As an adult, are there any classes I need to take to be able to get the various licenses through out the year? Also, do any of you know any good resources where I can learn the ins and outs of hunting legally, such as public/state land rules, fire arm restrictions and so on?

Yes. I recommend that you start here.

http://www.mi.gov/dnr/0,4570,7-153-10369_46346---,00.html

crankythunder
01-13-2014, 06:55 PM
The DNR website is a good start......

best bet is to find a mentor if possible.

where are you located anyways?

Cranky

bolonytony24
01-13-2014, 07:06 PM
he is "here" or "there" lol . hunters safety course and small game is a good start. I do agree with finding a mentor be it a friend, co-worker, neighbor, someone on this site. I would think that most guys that have been raised around hunting would be happy to pass along some help if you are close.

benjamindurtka
01-13-2014, 10:37 PM
Know your target and WHAT IS BEYOND IT!
There have been many many times, especially on public land where I have seen orange behind many a potential meal. Watch your muzzle, keep your finger off the trigger etc.
Its all "basic" I know. But like breathing its important and can keep you and your buddy alive.

DTruck
01-13-2014, 10:52 PM