PDA

View Full Version : Red dot sights and astigmatism

DevDoc
04-20-2014, 09:38 PM
Does anyone know why people with astigmatism(corrected, mind you) see red dot sights as stars, groups of dots, and or blobs of circles? Is there a similar type of sight which will work for me besides iron sights and traditional scopes?

Budget
04-21-2014, 06:05 AM
I admit I have no experience (good problem to have, very thankful for my eyesight) but I have read that the single dot red dots, IE Aimpoint, Trijicon, etc. are much easier to use than holographic sights, such as the Eotech.

Have you ever had experience with illuminated scopes? There are dozens of great options if you can see those clearly. ACOG, Elcan, to name a couple. What rifle is this going on, will it be AR or something a little bigger? Again, many options, but you're going to have to try out a few. I'd go to a gun show and try to look through as many as possible to see what fits your needs best.

DevDoc
04-21-2014, 06:17 AM
Thanks for the advice. It will be going on a yet to be purchased AR. I originally was trying to outfit my mini 14 but it(the mini) did not work well for my wife(we both shoot), so we are looking for a bit lighter AR and a scope to match.

MI-1911
04-21-2014, 06:39 AM
Cataracts possibly?

DevDoc
04-21-2014, 06:48 AM
I sure hope not. I was just examined a week ago and I am in my early 40s. Hadn't thought of that one.

MI-1911
04-21-2014, 06:58 AM
I sure hope not. I was just examined a week ago and I am in my early 40s. Hadn't thought of that one.

They're not just brought on by old age. Medications and other factors can cause them. Do you have trouble at night, especially when it's raining, and looking at street lights, head lights, etc? Did you see an optometrist, or an ophthalmologist?

pkuptruck
04-21-2014, 09:17 AM
cataracks?? sigh..

astigmatism is a deformity ( for lack of a better description) of the cornea.. thats WHY you see stars, blobs, etc..