PDA

View Full Version : Binoculars

magoo1500
08-09-2014, 07:42 PM
Can you get a descent pair of binoculars for around $100 or so.

I have been using an old pair for the 3 or 4 years and would like something a little stronger.

I am thinking dunhams with a 30% coupon,but just dont know enough to determine a good pair.

will be used for hunting,100 yds is probably the furthest distance.

dramey82
08-09-2014, 08:38 PM
Dunhams on Dixie is having a tent sale, there was a couple different brands they were selling in the tent, didn't check those prices but everything was reasonable.

jackstan
08-09-2014, 09:18 PM
My experience with glass has been that you get what you pay for . Thirty some years ago though I bought a Bushnell 7X50 armored model that was I think made in Japan at the time . It didn't cost a lot and has served well , if I had to do it over and stay on the lower side of the price tag I'd look for Japanese lenses .

Jack

crankythunder
08-10-2014, 04:31 AM
Dear Magoo:

while it is not a high power (10x or so) I have a recommendation that you should take a look at.

go to ebay and in their binocular section do a search for Tasco Offshore.

What you will find are listings for the tasco marine 7x50 waterproof binoculars that are an exact copy of the steiner military/marine binoculars which is current issue to the us armed forces. While they may be a copy, they are a very very high quality pair of binoculars. I have a couple pairs and every time someone borrows them to look through, they are making note of the brand and always comment on the image.

Now I have had my binoculars side by side with a set of swarofski 8x42's and the Swarovski's are a better pair of binoculars. but not by much and check out the prices of new swarofskis.