PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

huckleberryjay
12-03-2008, 01:23 AM
Hey there. I'm 22yrs. old and have recently decided to get into the hunting game. Lost my dad this year and am looking for a way to get out and relax for a while. No better way than hunting! I've been to some ranges before but have only shot an AR-15, H&K .40, Beretta 9mm, Savage .243. I'm looking for a decent .40 handgun and a good rifle for sale. Handgun for fun and the rifle for hunting. I just need some advice from the pros on what brand names and stuff like that I should look into. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks everyone!

7.62 Nato
12-03-2008, 08:56 AM
:welcome: to MGO. This is a good source of information and conversation.

Done Deal
12-07-2008, 07:45 PM
Welcome.

Now the hard part. There are probably as many fine rifles in a variety of calibers as there are opinions on here.

As you will learn, there are many factors to consider including platform, caliber, sighting system, grain bullet, and a multitude of other things.

Fortunately, nothing is stopping you from owning more than one rifle...

Have fun and enjoy this forum. Don't be afraid to ask questions because that is the one sure way nobody can figure that they no better...hehehe...

remingtondude58
12-07-2008, 09:41 PM
I use a Remington 700 BDL LH in 308 WIN currrently

CnA
12-09-2008, 11:33 AM
I use a Remington 700 BDL LH in 308 WIN currrently

A fine rifle and caliber.

A Ruger M77 or a Savage model 11 are also fine hunting rifles. You can't go wrong with them. Also the .308, 30-06 and .270 are all calibers that will take just about any large game in North America.

I personally have a Ruger M77 in 30-06 with a Burris scope ( the Burris line is one of the better values for great performance out there). It shoots 1" groups at 100 yards with factory 180 grain ammo.

RevDerb
12-09-2008, 11:43 AM