PDA

View Full Version : Basic toolset?

johnzilla
12-05-2008, 06:11 PM
I'm at the point where I'd like to start doing slightly more difficult projects on a couple of my lower end, lower cost guns just to get the experience.

I've done really simple stuff like swap out stocks but that was just using a regular screwdriver. In the next year, probably the most advanced thing I will be doing is building an AR from scratch and then maybe start working on some older milsurp stuff. I realize that's probably easy to most people, but for me they will be big jobs until I do it once or twice.

I see "gunsmithing tool kits" for sale at MidwayUSA, Brownell's, etc but don't know if they're any good or overkill. I don't want Chinese junk, but I don't want to be dropping hundreds of dollars for weekend warrior type jobs either. I'm not looking to be a gunsmith by trade, either and have no problem paying for an expert when an expert is required. I'd just like to know more about my guns than just shooting them.

What's a good starter list of tools to have that would cover intermediate and maybe advanced intermediate projects? I guess a set of punches, maybe a nylon mallet, some blocks and holders like Brownell's sells, maybe more?

I already have a sturdy bench, a decent vise, and all the various hand and power tools an experienced home improvement DIY'er would have (all good quality). I consider myself very handy...I can do any household job that doesn't require a license and have done just about everything to cars and trucks except rebuild an engine and trans.

Opinions, suggestions appreciated!

criminalhate
12-06-2008, 12:51 AM
To start off I am not a gunsmith so take everything I say as a grain of salt.

-Good set of screwdrivers (Craftsman, Stanley, etc should be good enough)
-Precision screwdrivers (In my opinion go Craftsman so when you you break off a tip using it as a pry bar you can get a new one)