PDA

View Full Version : Climbing Tree Stand

Bannockburn
11-12-2015, 05:30 PM
I have a climbing tree stand, but I want to leave it up for a few days so I don't have to make a bunch of noise and work in the dark every morning next week.

Once I install the climber with the rachet straps and all that, can I then use it as a hanging stand? Does that sound like a bad idea? It's pretty much the same physics as a hanger, just a little more comfy. I plan on putting in climbing sticks to get up and down from there.

I'm new to tree stands, can anyone help with this?

Thanks

Kilt Guy
11-12-2015, 06:48 PM
The only negative that I can come up with is the transition from the climbing stick into the stand. If at all possible I would hook a safety harness onto the tree before you did.

Good luck hunting.

jeffy
11-12-2015, 08:33 PM
make sure you ratchet strap each section too .. They like to fall or slip when there is no weight on them.

Bannockburn
11-12-2015, 11:10 PM
Thanks! I have a tree strap for the initial climb and the branch clearing mission, and then I will attach my life line... this way I'm always strapped in.

mac3982
11-13-2015, 04:55 AM
maybe add a few screw in pegs as hand holds and foot pegs for the transition into the stand

Sledhead
11-13-2015, 05:31 AM
^^^They are a no no on state land.

However, if you're hunting state land let me know where. I'll keep an eye on your stand for you. Wink wink.

Atchison
11-13-2015, 10:25 AM
Just go buy a hang on, climbers are dumb in my opinion. You spend more time searching for a tree to climb rather than a spot to hunt. A hang on can go in almost any tree and is more secure when left up. The new ones are light enough that transferring from spot to spot is easy.

tenthumbs
11-13-2015, 11:19 AM
IHEA tracks "incidents". This year we lost one on opening day of archery. He was found at the base of his tree wearing a harness.