PDA

View Full Version : What gun is most useful?

who dat
12-16-2008, 01:00 PM
I'm new to hunting. Sat in a blind for 2 days and thought I found heaven.

My question is, what gun should I have to deer/bird hunt? If I have a 12 gauge O/U for clays, is that gun OK for birds or even deer?

Should I keep my 12 gauge pump for deer or sell/trade it for a black powder rifle? Black powder can be used in shotgun only zones, seems to have much greater range than a shotgun, and would give me the opportunity to hunt more.

It seems the pump is less useful than the smokepole. Opinions?

RSF
12-16-2008, 01:35 PM
issue is this most slug guns and modern slugs are shooting no more than a muzzleloader bullet to a degree at up to 1900fps.. about the same most OTC smokepoles... i have used my slug guns to kill deer up to 200 yards and one at 235 yards..(yes it can be done but requires a bit of practice... good gun scope and ammo combo.)

smokepoles are fun accurate and interactive as all get out. i i have shot deer this up too 340 yards with my newest stick a carbon fiber wrapped gun from ultimate which gives me up to 2400fps with a 300 grain bullet but at a cost.. they start out at almost 1600-3500 and are worth every penny. in accuracy power yet my omega and encore have killed deer to 200 yards no issue but minus the pb range ablity .

what gun and scope slug combo do you use as of now?is the key question

an HR 12 gauge with a good glass and hornaday sst or the new remingtons have show great promise mine has a 4x12 sitting on it and its tack drive

papabear
12-16-2008, 02:18 PM
The one thing with the muzzle loader is that you get a longer deer season.

Done Deal
12-16-2008, 02:48 PM
If your sole use for the gun is deer, I would go with a smoke pole.

If, you are only going to have one gun as a do all, the only thing that will do it all is a shotgun.

who dat
12-16-2008, 03:19 PM
If your sole use for the gun is deer, I would go with a smoke pole.