PDA

View Full Version : AR15 Red dot scope

JohnJak
03-19-2016, 02:44 PM
I have never used one before. I want to co-witness with my front site. Don't want to spend a ton of money. Sorry if it's been covered before.

Shyster
03-19-2016, 02:58 PM
Hard to beat Vortex for the price. Personally, I like the Trijicon MRO though at around $500 mount included.

BAR500
03-19-2016, 03:47 PM
Vortex Sparc II is a solid and affordable 2MOA Red Dot. Aimpoint PRO is another option but a bit more pricey. I believe Vortex released the SPARC AR for AR15s. Good luck.

Enjoy,

BAR500

tiamat
03-19-2016, 08:02 PM
Most AR red dots seem setup to provide a 1/3 co-witness, but there are mounts available that will do a full co-witness. Primary Arms' Advanced MicroDot MD-ADS seems popular. There are several that are nearly identical and are all made in the same factory - TruGlo's Tru-Tec, Holosun's 403g, Primary Arms' MD-ADS, etc. They range from $125-$160 or so. Plenty of choices out there.

bae125
03-19-2016, 08:31 PM
Not sure of the budget, but my setup for my mid is Aimpoint PRO (400ish) on a ADM cantilever mount (130). It is a 1/3 co-witness.

I've heard good things about the Vortex red dots, I haven't used one. I have a Vortex PST 1-4 illuminated and, frankly, there is a definite difference in quality. I'll be replacing the Vortex but it works for now.

Michaelk
03-20-2016, 09:21 AM
I like the Vortex SPARC II. Included mounts allow for different mount heights and they have a lifetime warranty.

nrich1979
03-20-2016, 11:35 AM
I have the SPARC I with a Larue QD Mount and all the original factory items.. if you want to try it sometime before you invest in a red dot.. it's about as good as any you're going to get for less than 400+ dollars..

Hell I'd sell you the whole thing for cheap if you like it.. I've found I just don't like shooting a red dot..

I wear glasses and it always feels like the dot is fuzzy because my glasses slide down while I lean over..

rjrivero
03-20-2016, 01:41 PM