PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 question

justinj
01-25-2009, 07:47 PM
Ok so I am new to the AR-15 club.....I was wondering, can I get a new lower for it and then buy the kit so that I can have single shot, 3 shot burst, and full auto in that lower that can just be swapped out for the stock lower?

I really dont want to change/molest the stock lower for a few reasons.

1- If I ever decide to sell I can put it back to stock form
2- For transporting, if I get pulled over with the rifle in the truck and it gets looked at, figure there will be less issues with the stock lower, rather than the full auto lower installed.

Can anyone tell me what would be the best lower and full auto kit to buy? I have the bushmaster A3....I dont want to spend a bunch of money, but I would be happy with good mid range products.

Thanks in advance for any help!:biggrin:

Joeywhat
01-25-2009, 08:00 PM
Well, full auto and "don't want to spend a ton of money" is sort of an oxymoron. Getting a full auto sear/other parts will probably run into the thousands of dollars (or damn close, at least), and that's JUST for the full auto parts. Then factor in the ATF tax and paperwork.

You'll need a "low shelf" lower for the full auto parts...that's about all I know. That and buying a drop in sear will probably cost as much as a fully built M16.

justinj
01-25-2009, 08:05 PM
i thought I saw a full auto M16 kit on gunbroker for 110????

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.asp?Item=121323831

justinj
01-25-2009, 08:06 PM
so 110 for the kit, 150 or so for the lower....260 in total...am I wrong?

Joeywhat
01-25-2009, 08:10 PM
Is it registered with the BATFE?

justinj
01-25-2009, 08:14 PM
my gun? just got it yesterday so yes?

Joeywhat
01-25-2009, 08:18 PM
no, the full auto parts.

justinj
01-25-2009, 08:20 PM
oh, doesnt say on the listing.

would they have to be? they are just parts...

Joeywhat
01-25-2009, 08:24 PM