PDA

View Full Version : SKS magazine help

chewy
05-23-2009, 08:26 PM
I bought an SKS and it currently has a magazine adapter so as to accept the 30rnd magazine. Well, I'm no SKS expert as this is my first one but the 30rnd mag keeps falling out or not feeding right. I want to put the 10rnd mag back in but apparently there is some adapter insert that allows the 30rnd mags? Can anyone tell me how to remove this so the 10rnd mag will go back in?

DLL9MM
05-23-2009, 08:29 PM
I bought an SKS and it currently has a magazine adapter so as to accept the 30rnd magazine. Well, I'm no SKS expert as this is my first one but the 30rnd mag keeps falling out or not feeding right. I want to put the 10rnd mag back in but apparently there is some adapter insert that allows the 30rnd mags? Can anyone tell me how to remove this so the 10rnd mag will go back in?
Do you have pics? It is probably the D.C. engineering adapter or I think Cobray made one. Is it held in by a screw that you can see?
Is this it?
http://www.rifletech.com/item2006.htm

chewy
05-23-2009, 08:56 PM
Never mind... there's nothing special about it, I just have to remove the trigger assembly to put the mag in then put the trigger assembly back on then close the mag. Maybe I should try that adapter... maybe it'll keep the magazine from falling out! :D

DLL9MM
05-23-2009, 09:07 PM
Never mind... there's nothing special about it, I just have to remove the trigger assembly to put the mag in then put the trigger assembly back on then close the mag. Maybe I should try that adapter... maybe it'll keep the magazine from falling out! :D
From what I have heard, the D.C. Engineering Mags are overpriced junk. The best aftermarket mags for the SKS are the Tapco 20rd mags and the old "USA Brand" magazines which are hard to find. Personally, I would stick with the fixed 10rd factory magazine and stripper clips. One of my SKS' is setup in all Tapco stuff though.

Joeywhat
05-23-2009, 09:08 PM