PDA

View Full Version : Barrel Shortening Question

vintagemc313
10-16-2009, 08:42 PM
When shortening a shotgun barrel, what steps to I need to take after the bandsaw cut to assure no splitting when shot? Thanks

TomE
10-16-2009, 08:56 PM
I'm no expert ,but will be doing the same thing shortly.I am going to cut the barrel off,grind it smooth and square without heating up the barrel,cha**** the inside with a countersink by hand,sand smooth with emery type paper,break the sharp outside edgo also.Touch up the opps spots with blueing

dramey82
10-16-2009, 09:42 PM
I'm no expert ,but will be doing the same thing shortly.I am going to cut the barrel off,grind it smooth and square without heating up the barrel,cha**** the inside with a countersink by hand,sand smooth with emery type paper,break the sharp outside edgo also.Touch up the opps spots with blueing
I did all this the same except I used a pipe cutter, leaves a perfect even cut with no need to square off, then smooth the edges so they are round, then you touch up with bluing and of course the bead.

TomE
10-16-2009, 10:17 PM
I have a couple of pipe cutters:scratch:

pkuptruck
10-17-2009, 04:13 AM
if its a double barrel, then you need to
- square the barrels
- cha**** the inside/outside smooth
- check and reweld the barrels where they join the "joiner" or rib
( silver soldier is the prefered method...)
- reblue as needed.

vintagemc313
10-17-2009, 04:14 AM
I did all this the same except I used a pipe cutter, leaves a perfect even cut with no need to square off, then smooth the edges so they are round, then you touch up with bluing and of course the bead.

I thought that would be a problem because of the tapered barrel??

TomE
10-17-2009, 07:31 AM
Or if you happen to have one of those pesky vent ribs,which I don't

JohnS624
10-17-2009, 04:36 PM
Shotgun barrels are tapered?

dramey82
10-17-2009, 05:12 PM
Or if you happen to have one of those pesky vent ribs,which I don't