PDA

View Full Version : Question for those involved in hunting leases

luthis
12-17-2009, 07:55 PM
I am considering buying a peice of land for personal investment, which will generally be leased as hunting land to close friends.

How do you value the cost of a lease. Ideally I'll be puchasing 100 Acres within a 2 to 3 hour drive from metro Detroit.

Access to the property would be available year round to those on the lease, and they would have exclusive use of the land during the fall.

What should that lease for? How many people could you lease it to?

Thanks for the input.

jgorski
12-18-2009, 11:09 PM
While I am no expert on leases I have checked into many of them. First off you must make the decission as to how many persons you want or feel comfortable having on the land. Remember more people equals less acerage per hunter and more pressure on the deer. Next you need to think about what you plan to allow on your property, the taking of any deer or only select age or size deer, how many deer per year will you allow to be taken. Is the area well known for quality deer. What do you plan to do to the property to maintain or improve the deer herd? These are all things to be considered as you begin to decide how much you plan to charge for leases.
Better land = better herd = better prices. Hope this helps. When you decide let me know as I too may be interesed if you decide you have room. John

wadevb1
12-20-2009, 08:44 AM
I am considering buying a peice of land for personal investment, which will generally be leased as hunting land to close friends.

How do you value the cost of a lease. Ideally I'll be puchasing 100 Acres within a 2 to 3 hour drive from metro Detroit.

Access to the property would be available year round to those on the lease, and they would have exclusive use of the land during the fall.

What should that lease for? How many people could you lease it to?

Thanks for the input.