PDA

View Full Version : Any good gunsmithing classes near Midland? In Michigan?

Vince from Midland
12-31-2002, 04:58 PM
Hello,

I'm getting the itch to learn about gunsmithing. I'm a novice. I live in Midland, and am wondering if there are any good classes that teach gunsmithing near the Tri-Cities? If not, are there any good gunsmithing classes in Michigan?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Brian
01-06-2003, 03:15 AM
I'm not sure where in Michigan you can get training. I'm currently taking a course through the American Gunsmithing Institute. It's a video course that contains 52 tapes and includes 105 hours of instruction. The instructor is Robert Dunlap. He owns a service facility and has personaly repaired over 250,000 guns. His facility is a warrenty staion for several of the major manufacturers. The course is kind of pricy but I feel it's worth it. You can learn at your own pace and being on video, you can always rewind the tape to get you missed. I'ver repaired quite a few guns with this info. Animal let me use a couple of his as test pieces. Give them a call and ask for the newest catalog. 800 797-0867 or check out the website www.americangunsmith.com They also offer Armorers Courses that are gun specific if you don't want to do the full course.

Have fun :P

Vince from Midland
01-06-2003, 09:01 PM
Thanks for the information, Brian! I've seen those courses advertised, and I'm glad to here your feedback.

What type of tools did you need to buy? Lathe? Mill?

How much money is involved all together including tuition, tools, and other miscellaneous expenses? How much time do you spend on it each week outside of the tapes? How many months/years do you expect it to take you? Is there a big final test when you're done to certify you as a gunsmith?

Thanks,

Brian
01-07-2003, 05:19 AM