PDA

View Full Version : Where to place a gun safe in the home: house fires

BigIrish
03-17-2010, 09:37 AM
Since there's a dedicated space on the boards now for safe storage of guns, I thought I'd pull up an old post that I'd made last year about choosing a location for your gun safe in the house, with particular emphasis on house fires. I don't claim to be an expert on the issue, but I am a firefighter and I have some experience first hand seeing how homes burn.

At any rate, I thought it would be useful for anyone adding a safe to their home, and I'm sure others have good ideas about safe placement/location as well. This was my post on safe location from a fire perspective:

There are a lot of conisderations to weigh on where you'd like to put a gun safe. There is no perfect solution, and eventually you have to decide what's important to you.

That said, I've worked enough house fires to know that I would never put a safe of any size on the second floor. My guess is that, structurally, it would be fine under normal circumstances. But in a house fire, there's no sweet spot that will prevent your safe from winding up on the bottom floor.

Strictly from a fire perspective, I see two optimal places for your safe. Bear in mind that prolonged heat exposure will damage the contents no matter where you put it.

First and foremost, I'd put it in the corner of the garage furthest from your house (assuming it's attached). I'd bolt it to the floor and then I'd build a closet around it. Depending on the fire rating of the safe, that will give you the best chances of the contents surviving. It doesn't mean that it won't be exposed to 1000+ degree temperatures. It just means that it stands a better chance of being exposed to those temps for the shorter amount of time.