PDA

View Full Version : Trigger pull too light.

joen
03-05-2004, 07:16 AM
Need some advice on increasing the trigger pull on a Colt Government .45ACP. It now breaks just short of 3 lbs; I'd feel better if it were closer to 4 lbs. Any advice would be appreciated and, of course, taken as opinion only; no liability assumed.

I have heard pull can be increased slightly by altering the bend in the leaf spring but I'm not sure which 'leaf' to mess with. I have had some stove piping problems but I believe this was due to limp wristing on those shots.

Thanks.

Joen

Kimber45
03-05-2004, 07:21 AM
I'm no gunsmithing expert but one way to affect trigger pull weight in a 1911 is to change the mainspring. In this case you will want to increase the weight. I don't recall what weight mainspring the Commander has but you can find that out at the Wolff Springs web site and you can order from them.

Tallbear
03-05-2004, 07:35 AM
Did you buy the gun "new"? If not, the owner may have changed the spring to "lighten" the pull.

If you're uncomfortable with doing this (not know what spring) I'd take it to a gunsmith and let him set it to what you want.

Brian
03-05-2004, 09:03 AM
The leaf spring in back of the trigger is the trigger return spring and will have some effect on the pull but you should concentrate on the main spring and the sear angles, main spring first if the sear is ok. A gunsmith should do the sear work but you can do the mainspring at home in about five minutes with simple tools. Caution should be used when working with the leaf spring thay can get pretty finicky and can an effect on several functions.

jmoser
03-05-2004, 10:28 AM