Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    MGO Member

State land target practice

Hi all,
    I'm fairly new to gun ownership and have been shooting at the ranges around my area for almost a year, just about every weekend. I have heard you could target shoot on State land and was curious about that. Where can you go to do that? Is there certain state properties you can? I have a CPL, and am mostly looking for someplace to shoot a pistol, although I did just buy a Mosin Nagant.

Russ

I am a Forum User
    Any state land thats open for shooting. Just take a target with you, make sure you have a safe backstop and then clean up after yourself.

I am a Forum User
    3rd holler on the right then up the road a piece.
    Quote Originally Posted by SlowDog
    Any state land that's open for shooting. Just take a target with you, make sure you have a safe backstop and then clean up after yourself.
    This comes up all the time around here your statement is not completely accurate. Not all State land is legal to target shoot. There are threads on this here. And also the rules are quite easy to find. Instead of typing all this out again. I will tell you that State recreation areas that allow hunting are not legal to target shoot period. I'll give you an example- Highland lake recreation area yes legal to hunt but NOT legal to target shoot.
    Oak Grove state game area legal to hunt and legal to target shoot.
    Not all State land is treated the same in regards to target shooting.

http://www.state.mi.us/orr/emi/admin...pt=NR&RngHigh=