Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

KROGER

Walther Q5 Match (5" PPQ) Review and Range Report

I own a PPQ M2 4" and love it. Use it for 3 Gun, EDC, training and just for every day plinking. Did I say I love it? Have a Glock 17, Canick TP9, Walther CCP 9mm, and have owned a S&W M&P .45, Springfield XDS .45, a generic ATI 1911 .45 and a Beretta M9A2 (which coincidentally I also carried in the Corps.) I'm of the opinion that the PPQ out of the box puts these guns to shame.

So holding the PPQ in such high regard, I had great expectations for the Q5....and it delivered. Finish is great. I'm not an expert at describing take up and break and gritty or crisp. I'll do my best to describe how the gun shoots. Trigger is very similar to the M2 but the take up is smoother (it was suggested that this is because they're using lighter springs, but I'm not that technically savvy so I'll believe it.) Recoil is nominal, and I imagine that it is not only because it is a 9mm but also because of the ported slide (maybe I'm not calling it by the correct term; it's all milled out.) Barrel IS NOT ported. Nice tight groups. A more skilled shooter had a group that was less than an 1/2 inch at 7yds using 115gr HP. Hitting bowling pins at 25 yards like a boss.

*Update*. No failures whatsoever. Almost 300 rounds and no problems at all.

So far the only adjustment I made was elevation and windage. Rear site is completely adjustable. Couple clicks up and right (audible and tactile clicks. Nice!) I don't like the rear site because it is just a notch, with no dots or markings. My vision isn't what it used to be so I'll be seeking a solution for that. I think I'll be changing back straps to smaller size.