Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
    I can't post links yet! Forum User

How often do you clean?

So I'm new to gun ownership. I shoot an S&W SD9VE about every 2-3 weeks. 50-100 rounds each time. and I shoot my Savage 320 12ga about every other month, maybe 10-20 rounds.
    I've asked around and get many different opinions on how often I should clean. I heard that the residue is corrosive so don't leave it siting long. But the rental guns don't look like they ever get cleaned and one gunshop employee said he never cleans his personal guns.
    I've been cleaning about every second or third shooting. Or earlier if I think I'm not going shooting for a while.

So, what's the general consensus?

Also, I read a post where a gunowner said never insert the barrel cleaning rod into the muzzle, only the chamber end. Any reason or logic for that?

Thanks

I am a Forum User
    I clean after every range trip on all handguns. My AR I clean after every other range trip as long as I dont shoot more than 200 rds in one trip. This is just my personal preference on my AR since it is my basement gun and I know it can go quite a few rounds without cleaning and not have any hiccups. As for handguns, I depend on them much more since they are generally for HD or my carry weapon.

As for cleaning from the muzzle end, you can damage the crown of the muzzle and severly affect your accuracy.

MGO Member