Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Firing Dented M855

First of all, apologies if this has been asked before, but 30 minutes of googling and forum searching didn't turn up any satisfying answers.

I'm new to centerfire rifle ownership in general, and AR ownership in particular. My first time out shooting my AR, I failed to fully seat the magazine and the first two rounds I tried loading didn't chamber fully and came out dented near the neck. The dents are only moderately deep, but both have a "seam" at the bottom that's sharp enough to catch a fingernail on. Both rounds still chamber without any hangups, but I wonder if this kind of damage is likely to bump the chamber pressure up dangerously high. Any word on whether these rounds are still safe to fire?

The rifle is chambered for 5.56 and both rounds are Winchester branded M855. Thanks for any advice.

First round:
    https://i.imgur.com/PBt03sM.jpg

Second round:
    https://i.imgur.com/glO44SH.jpg

I am a Forum User
    ive fired dented rounds before with no problem. so id say your ok to do it.

I've had dents like that on ammo fresh from the box, never had an issue firing it.

I am a Forum User
    generally, "dents" are not an issue, or problem...

BUT..

looking at your pictures ( and not knowing light, angle, etc of said pictures..) the first one
    just seems "dented".. so , good to go.

the second one looks SPLIT.. not just "creased". if it IS split.. toss it ( of if you reload.. pull bulled and powder.)

I am a Forum User
    Quote Originally Posted by pkuptruck View Post
    generally, "dents" are not an issue, or problem...

BUT..

looking at your pictures ( and not knowing light, angle, etc of said pictures..) the first one