Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

KROGER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooting at lead targets... for science!

Disclaimer: I have zero background in shooting at steel or other metal targets, so my question may be stupid.

My brother is studying impact cratering geology for his PhD in planetary science and has requested my help (and my guns) for an experiment. He routinely experimentally studies impacts in the lab using sand targets and a giant Catapult of Science, but there's also value in studying impacts in a soft, non-granular solid (ie, not sand), which is hard to do in the lab with the velocities his catapult is capable of. So he's suggesting using a rifle to shoot into a wax target. My concern is that even a .22lr is likely to totally penetrate a wax target of manageable size and, even if it doesn't, the massive difference in density between projectile and target will lead to poor experimental results. I'd like to suggest shooting at a lead target (1/2 to 1 pound lead ingots) so that the densities are more similar, and have come up with the following safety considerations/questions:

- Each lead target may only be shot once per side to avoid ricochets due to surface deformation.
    - Lead targets should be angled slightly toward to the ground (20 degrees?)
    - Shots should be from at least 50 yards

We'll most likely be shooting .22lr and possibly very light .223 loadings.

Are there other safety considerations I've not thought of? Is this whole thing a terribly bad idea?
    Last edited by Scandiacus; 10-27-2016 at 11:44 AM. Reason: removed possibly wrong info, clarified