Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

I can't post links yet! Forum User

Inherited firearms

Hello all, I am new to firearm ownership and selling, my father in law recently passed away and left behind a small collection of firearms. I am planning on selling the majority of what is there, I just would like to make sure I am doing everything by the book. I am unfamiliar with Michigan gun laws, I grew up in Illinois where we needed a FOID card in order to own a firearm (I do not have a FOID card). Do I need to have anything like that in Michigan (specifically Gratiot county) to legally own the firearms we inherited? My father in law left everything to my wife in his will, Im assuming we would have to now register these firearms under our names in order to legally sell them? Does anyone here have any experience in matters like this? As I stated before, I want to do everything by the book and I know firearm ownership and selling can be a pretty complicated process, so any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

The collection is also secured inside a pretty hefty safe, Ive contacted a few local locksmiths about getting it open but none could guarantee the safe wouldnt be damaged, could anyone recommend a locksmith near Gratiot county who specialized in safes and can get me some sort of guarantee my safe will be able to be used after we get it open?

MGO Member
    You inherented the guns but not the combination to the safe?

Post guns here. Many people would be interested, including myself.

I can't help any with the safe. If you post the type/brand, someone may weight in.

As far as the firearms go, any long arms would just be turned over to you/your wife.

Only handguns ("pistols" as defined by law) need to be registered.