Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I am a Forum User

PSA 16" Mid-length 5.56 NATO 1:7 Stainless Freedom Rifle Kit - 43526 a Review

I should start by saying that I have waited several months, after having written this report,to post it.
    I wanted to give PSA a n opportunity to respond to my concerns,but now it's time for an honest report of my experience.
    I am not an AR expert,though I've owned an early model (Windham, Mass. Mfrg.) Bushmaster AR-15 HB Carbine purchased new,
    just prior to the first "assault weapon" ban by Pres.Clinton. (I've had it quite awhile)

Never had ANY problem with it, has required no work in my years of ownership.
    That said, having read many reports about building a AR-15, decided I wanted to give it a try, as a learning experience.

PSA is a popular supplier of AR-15 parts, maybe Not of high-end parts, but O.K. quality,for a entry level, budget, AR rifle.
    I ordered a PSA 16" Mid-length 5.56 NATO 1:7 Stainless Freedom Rifle Kit - 43526 , & lower receiver, to assemble.
    The upper receiver was already assembled, just had to assemble parts to the stripped lower receiver.
    The parts fit together well, & assembly was pretty quick, with the help of a few youtube videos
    Lower & upper fit together snugly..no slop. Kit included all needed parts & no special tools were needed for assembly.

After assembly was completed, everything seemed to work as it should, but trigger felt a bit heavier than I like.
    Measured the trigger pull with a gauge, was > 7 #, (as high as the gauge went).
    After consulting my gunsmith for his suggestion/recommendation, bought & installed a set of J&P reduced power trigger/hammer spring set.