Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

I am a Forum User

Home Gun Range question

I was curious as to what are the laws for having an at home gun range? Like, can I convert my garage into a small target practice area just for pistols? Self defense gun training type, short range? The garage is roughly 25-30 ft long, 25 ft wide and nearly 30 ft tall. Granted Id have to do a lot of sound proofing, but is it possible? Just curious.

It will all depend on the local municipalities' regulations/ordinances on the discharge of firearms. They are NOT preempted, and indoor/outdoor does not matter.

Life Member, NRA, Lapeer County Sportsmen's Club Disclaimer: I Am Not A Lawyer. Opinions expressed are not representative of any organization to which I may belong, and are solely mine. Any natural person or legal entity reading this post accepts all responsibility for any actions undertaken by that person or entity, based upon what they perceived was contained in this post, and shall hold harmless this poster, his antecedents, and descendants, in perpetuity.

I am a Forum User
    In Flint?

Nobody would notice a few more gunshots daily.
    Have at it.

Have you considered using air soft guns? Backstop could consist of hanging heavy blankets and would allow a 360 degree range in your garage. Add cardboard cut out bad guy targets and all sorts of self defense scenarios become possible. Airsoft guns are not very loud while being very realistic and the blowback ones operate like a real gun. And, although I am not an attorney so this is not legal advice, from what I can find air soft guns are not classified as firearms. Although I suppose it might be possible that some local ordinance about them is on the books.

Video at the link below.....