Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I am a Forum User

Fire sprinkler near safe

I am looking for a safe, and having a hard time coming to grips with getting one with a higher fire rating as they cost quite a bit more than ones with lesser ratings. I read an article online that suggested putting a fire sprinkler or two near your safe to provide fire protection and or improve the protection on a safe that it already fire rated. Has anyone heard of or done this. It seems like it may be worthwhile. Especially if there is already a waterline nearby. I figured I'd ask as I have zero knowledge of how effective those kind of sprinklers are.

I am a Forum User
    This is just my uneducated opinion so take it for what its worth, but I would think water could cause just as much damage as fire depending on what firearms are in the safe.

I am a Forum User
    Depending on what your water supply is near your safe, 1 or 2 heads might do it. A standard commercial 1/2" pendant sprinkler supplied with 7 P.S.I. from a minimum 1" line will put down .10 G.P.M. over an area 15'X15'. However most homes aren't piped with water lines that big.

You would need to determine your available piping size, pressure in the line & the area you would like to cover. Also look at what is in the area that might be considered an obstruction to the flow pattern developing. Once you have that basic information you can look at choosing a head and placement.

I would be happy to give you advice if you'd like to post pic of the area and dimensions of the safe you are considering.
    If you haven't figured it out yet this is what I do for a living.

I am a Forum User
    Quote Originally Posted by cmr19xx View Post