Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Phoenix Arms HP22a

Yeah I know.... It's not only a .22 but is also a Phoenix Arms.

I seem to have an affinity for cheap guns and can't resist buying them. Of course I have a Hi Point and I also have a Rohm .22 short. I do not have any financial interest in those guns or the Phoenix Arms HP22a Deluxe Range kit I picked up yesterday. I am not a professional gun guy anything but I took it to the range today to check it out. I took it out of the case, loaded it up without doing any prep of any kind, and here are the results:

The HP22a Deluxe Range Kit contains the gun, an extra magazine with pinky extention, a 5 inch barrel (gun comes with a 3 inch barrel), and some cleaning stuff inside a plastic case. I paid $209 for it.

I fired 380 rounds of Federal Auto Match 40gr LRN 1200fps ammo with 190 rounds though each of both magazines. And I fired 140 rounds through the 5 inch barrel with 240 rounds through the 3 inch barrel.

Of those 380 rounds round #298 failed to fire but recocking the hammer for a second strike resulted in the round firing. Then round #375 failed to eject and seemed to be stuck in the chamber. Dropping the magazine and racking the slide resulted in the casing ejecting. That was it. Those were the only failures in 380 rounds. That was not the result I expected.

The trigger started out gritty but smoothed out by the end of the session. Considering I was more interested in function testing the accuracy at 21 feet was acceptable with shots falling underneath my handprint. I have no doubt accuracy would have been better had I been trying for it.