Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

KROGER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I am a Forum User

Suppressor covers

Just curious of what suppressors covers people are using, store bought or homemade. I am pretty new to the suppressor world and by doing a internet search they look to be anywhere $60 - $100. Seems a little steep for just a cover, but I have no experience with them.

The first few range trips the suppressor didn't get to hot so I wasn't to concerned about a cover but last time I went it got really hot! (few hundred rounds with some faster rate of fire)

I saw a home made one that looked really good. Inner lining was a Oatey heat shield pad from home depot covered in canvas. Guy probably had $15 in it and a little time doing his best Betsy Ross imitation. So far I've been just letting them cool down to keep them from melting the foam in the gun case. Figure the barrel is almost as hot at that point also.

I am a Forum User
    Not a cover, but I ordered a pair of these on a whim. They just arrived a couple of days ago and I've been playing with them. They're very light duty, but they make me chuckle so I have no regrets. I'll probably end up keeping them in the kitchen and not the range case.

Instead, I've been thinking about getting silicone oven grippers like these for the range. They make them in some funny shapes (crab claws, pac-man, dog snouts, etc) so I might look around for one that tickles my funny bone.

Keep in mind that a cover insulates the can causing it to retain heat longer.

Unless you are fighting a mirage, then I find it better to let it cool uncovered.

That said, I keep an oven mitt handy for handling hot cans. They tend to cool better off the barrel, if possible.

I am a Forum User