Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

Firearms Legal Protection

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

5.56/.223 Range Ammo Suggestions

My plan is to start taking my AR-15, chambered in 5.56, to the range more frequently, especially after rediscovering how much fun it is to shoot. When I bought the rifle last year, I picked up some American Eagle 55 gr boat tail FMJ, which works, but then, I'm not an expert, either. What grain of ammo would you experienced long-gun types suggest, considering I have a 16 inch, 1:8 twist barrel, and I would like to be able to punch holes in paper and ring steel out to at least 100 yards (perhaps further since my club's range goes out to 200 yards). What are some good sources for purchasing in bulk?

I'm also thinking about an entry-level AR for my oldest grandson, and from what I can tell, most will have a barrel twist of 1:7. I think I would need a bullet that would work well in both rifles.

Thanks.

I am a Forum User
    No reason why 55's or 62g won't work. They're both incredibly common, readily available online or in stores, and have been tried and trued for the last 40 years for said rifle.
    With regards to the 1:7, it will perform just as your other barrel/rifle, however would be able to shoot a slightly heavier pill should you ever want to. (something up in the 70+ grains with the faster 1:7 twist rate) Both will shoot the 55's and 62's perfectly.
    The American Eagle stuff is excellent ammo out of the box. If I recall, it's LC brass, so it's a great choice if you brass hound for reloading.
    I shoot mostly 62's however I roll my own and never shy away from the 55's when I find them on sale. Either will serve you well.

MGO Member
    [QUOTE=Mr. Waverly;3155124] What are some good sources for purchasing in bulk?[QUOTE]