Welcome to MGO's Internet Discussion Forums…Please Consider Becoming a Dues-Paying Member of the ORG…Click >>>>>HERE<<<<< for more info…………****DONATIONS**** can also be made toward MGO's Legal Defense Fund and/or MGO's Forums >>>>>HERE<<<<<

KROGER

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I can't post links yet! Forum User

Question on Buying AR

Hello,

Apologize in advance, as I’m sure this has been discussed multiple times, but can’t find the thread.

Looking to buy an AR from a private seller and don’t understand the process. I have a CPL and I am a Michigan resident. What is the process? Just a bill of sale? Do I need to register?

Thanks,
    Steve

I am a Forum User
    Firearms that aren't pistols such as shotguns and rifles are cash and carry. No paperwork or anything required. Seller may want to verify your age.

I am a Forum User
    Quote Originally Posted by GreaseMonkeySRT View Post
    Firearms that aren't pistols such as shotguns and rifles are cash and carry. No paperwork or anything required. Seller may want to verify your age.
    Private party sales of long guns do not have background checks. There are no forms to fill out. There is no registration of the transaction. You hand them money they hand you a gun. The seller has an obligation to not sell a gun to someone that they know is not legally allowed to purchase one.

If someone asked me for ID I would be willing to show my DL and my CPL but I would not let them take a picture of them.

I am a Forum User
    Quote Originally Posted by eightbit View Post
    If someone asked me for ID I would be willing to show my DL and my CPL but I would not let them take a picture of them.
    And just so the OP is aware, many sellers will walk away from people who aren't willing to do this.

This is not a judgement on eightbit or whether it's right or wrong, so nobody needs to get their panties in a bunch.